RSS

Back porches and puppies

07 Dec

I think I’m getting old. Isaac tells me I am frequently, so maybe that has something to do with it.

Case in point:

 

I was filling out the 2012 Partner Trip calendar this morning, and I noticed that exactly one year from today, some of our partners will have their feet on the ground in Liberia (feel free to sign up by clicking on the pic!). Then I thought, where will I be on this day in 2012? I laughed out loud. Really. Actually, it was more of a snort.

I’m not sure where I will be in February, let alone next Christmas. I’m not complaining. I’m only complaining a little. It’s hard some days to live with such uncertainty from month to month. However it came about, my mind is starting to long for little bits of predictability: A front porch. A backyard. Walls that I can knock out and floors that I can refinish. Puppies. Essentially, I am starting to long for a home. But as I am learning how to do (slowly), I fall back on Christ to unpack my emotions.

“If you keep my commands, you’ll remain intimately at home in my love. That’s what I’ve done — kept my Father’s commands and made myself at home in his love.” -John 15:10 (MSG)  

Christ is my home. As long as I follow his path for my life, I will be right where I am supposed to be. Not earth-shattering news, I know. But it is so comforting. There’s your simple thought for today; abide in Christ, and find yourself at home.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 7, 2011 in General, JESUS Film

 

4 responses to “Back porches and puppies

  1. Joann Davison

    December 7, 2011 at 11:59 am

    Sarah,
    I understand how you are feeling and so does the Lord. Wherever you are I know you and Isaac will make it a warm and cozy, Christ centered home. All the things you long for will be yours in a few years. It is not where you live but what you do to make it a home filled with love
    I understand your nesting instincts. You are a family,home oriented person and I love you for that.
    Also love you for many other reasons !! Gtandma

     
  2. isaacandsarah

    December 7, 2011 at 12:03 pm

    Grandma,
    This made my day. :)Love,
    Sarah

     
  3. Alainna Martin

    December 7, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Well, speaking from someone who seems more grounded…. It’s nice to know there are people out there like you and Isaac who are following where God leads. I think I’m guilty of living vicariously through you two. We fully intend on coming to visit you in Switzerland! Or Germany? Or wherever!

     
  4. Michael Davison

    December 7, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Please keep moving so I can keep visiting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 399 other followers

