RSS

Dead tired. Full of energy.

07 Jul

The most beautiful girl in Tamale. Her, not me.

Home sweet home. After two weeks of blessed, exhausting work in Ghana, Africa, we are back on (sort of) home field. Isaac has more than 2,200 photos to root through, and I have hours of interviews to transcribe. We are so, so blessed to have had the opportunity to go on this trip, and I cannot wait to share more of it with you. But Isaac is stubborn and pictures must be perfect. Whatever.

In the meantime, I thought i would share with you one of the lovely things I found in Ghana. West Africa is full of symbols and metaphors, and this one is my second favorite:

gye name, "Except God"

It’s called gye name (“jen-ya may”), and it means “Except God”. That’s not a spelling error. It means that except for God, nothing matters. It was on everything over there (buildings, t-shirts, plastic lawn chairs), but it was my first exposure so I fell in love with it.

If the gye name was my second-favorite symbol, my MOST favorite was this one:

denkyem, adaptability to all surroundings

It’s called denkyem, or “the crocodile” (yes, I am aware that it is, in fact, more of a turtle. West Africans are strange). It is the symbol of adaptability, and its story reflects that “the crocodile lives in water, yet breathes the air.” I just find this so powerful, and it’s a fairly good representation of my life, and the life of a follower of Christ, too.

More to come, Promise.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in General, JESUS Film

 

One response to “Dead tired. Full of energy.

  1. Joann Davison

    July 7, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    Sarah and Isaac,
    I can’t even begin to imagine what your experience was like in AFRICA !!!
    You have seen more of the world and what life is like in other countries in your 20 some years than I have see in 80 some or ever will. It is so great and I am so excited for both of you to be carrying the message of Jess to so many needy places.. I love you both more than you can ever know and am praying for you both that God will use you and protect you.
    Love Grandma Joann

     

Leave a Reply

 
